Valentine’s Day has always been a holiday I’ve given the side eye, whether I had a valentine or not. It just always felt slightly forced, either way. This year, though, my office is throwing a small V-day party with cards and treats, just the like the Valentine’s Days of grade school, when it was still awesome to get piles of cartoon cards and conversation hearts. I have some sausage balls cooking in the oven now in preparation for the festivities and they are making my apartment smell pretty deliciously awesome. Plus, I just feel accomplished having something in the oven at 7 a.m. I even have some grade school Valentine’s cards to distribute. They’re Brave themed, which is a movie I’ve never seen. The back of the cards say oddly motivational things like, “Trust yourself, Valentine” or “Valentine, you will be legendary!” (which I can’t help but read in a Barney Stinson voice)

I think as a kid that would have fallen a little flat with me, but in the working world, it feels much more appropriate than telling our Creative Director “You make my heart flutter, Valentine!”

Whether you love Valentine’s Day or not, I hope it’s wonderful (or at least bearable).

A sentiment I can get behind.

A sentiment I can get behind.

