So, when my family came to visit and insisted we gather around my Netflix and turn on a South Korean drama, I was all, “you’re sipping crazy sauce.” I groaned through the first three episodes (seriously, you came to visit me in Atlanta and want to watch 3 hours of television… with SUBTITLES?) but when they left I quickly completed the series.

It’s the story of a girl in South Korea who wants to be a pasta chef and has to stand up to (and of course falls hopelessly in love with) the arrogant yet honorable head chef. I found the over-expressive acting and cultural differences fascinating, but there are some genuinely amusing and engaging parts of the story, as well. I can’t explain how or why, but at some point it sucked me in. And it all made me want to eat pasta even more than usual, so there’s that.

