I qualify for dual citizenship. It’s true. My grandfather came over from Sicily and passed through Ellis Island when he was 3 years old or so. Apparently that’s all I need. Well, that, and a million different documents of proof, along with a thousand different other records. It’s about a year-long process, a bit expensive, and famously frustrating to achieve. But it is possible. I don’t know what I’d do with Italian citizenship, really, but it’s nice to dream that I could learn the language, save some money, and travel all around “the old country” without any time constraints. Or, you know. Live there for a while. A girl can dream, right? I just got back from a trip visiting family in Arizona, where I spent much of my time looking through old photo albums and learning all kinds of stories about my grandparents and great-grandparents, so Italy and family history is a bit on the brain these days.

One of the places I’d like to go (dual citizenship or no) is Cinque Terre. It’s five little villages clustered together on the coast of the Italian Riviera. You can take a day to walk down the Via dell’Amore (the “Love Walk”) from the uppermost village right down to the beach, where people grab a beer or a gelato before dipping into the sea. It sounds like a lovely way to spend a day.

via Pinterest

Leisel, my friend Melissa (did I ever give you a German alias?), and I talk about making the trip sometime. One way or another, I’d like to make it happen.

