“He charged the ranks of the goblins of Mount Gram in the Battle of the Green Fields, and knocked their king Golfimbul’s head clean off with a wooden club. It sailed a hundred yards through the air and went down a rabbit hole, and in this way the battle was won and the game of Golf invented at the same moment.” –The Hobbit

I found a copy of The Hobbit wedged on my bookshelf the other day. It’s from 1966 and the pages are yellow and torn; the cover is altogether missing. I think it was my mother’s, and I gained possession of it when I was in the 6th grade and eagerly devouring every book I could get my hands on. I loved it. I hardly did anything else but read until it was finished. After coming across my copy of The Hobbit again and knowing that the movie is being made, I decided to read it again. Upon opening the first page I realized I don’t remember any of the story at all. A few pages in, I came across the paragraph quoted above and remembered why I loved the story so many years ago. I look forward to rediscovering it.

