via Cahaba Cycles

Online shopping has become my drug. I found this (^) online a couple weeks ago (who know how I ended up looking at bikes… that’s how bad the situation is) and I’ve been daydreaming about it on and off ever since then.

My commute to work used to be all of 7 minutes. I couldn’t have been more than two miles away, and I loved rolling out of bed at 8 and taking my time before I needed to be at work at 9. At the beginning of the year, though, work moved closer to me, if that’s possible. We now work in a darling office a mere 3 minutes away, and while it’s a tad too far to reasonably walk to work, it’s occurred to me that I don’t necessarily need to drive, either. With most of the roads I must travel being residential, I could very easily and quickly bike to work if I so wished. Think of the exercise I’d get! Think of how toned my legs would be!

I haven’t owned a bike since I was a little girl. It was a pink and purple Huffy with a glittery unicorn painted across it. Pink and purple streamers flared from the handlebars, and while I don’t remember riding it too terribly much, I remember I loved to pick the spiky white rubber treads (or something) off the tires. And I loved to ring the bell. And I loved to pick clovers and throw them into my purple plastic basket. To feed the glittery unicorn, of course.

But I’m sure I loved to ride it, too.

Back to the current day, biking to work would only be any good on sunny, temperate days. And it couldn’t be a day I was running late. And really, the thought of riding a bike on a road with cars whizzing by terrifies me. What if someone sideswiped me and I spent the rest of my life in a body cast? It could happen, you know.

In all reality, this bike would probably end up sitting on my back porch. Let’s call it like it is.

But isn’t it cute?
With a little ding-a-ling bell and a straw basket, wouldn’t it be darling?

I’m trying to be practical and not get carried away.

But if you see me pedaling around one morning (as far to one side of the road as I can manage, with a helmet and bubble wrap on) don’t judge me. Just tell me how cute I look.

Or at least how cute the bike looks.

