Tags

, , ,

me: Oh hi, Ma.
Ma: You should know I didn’t sleep a wink last night.
me: Oh, why not? Excited about the trip?
Ma: And the one solid hour of deep, deep sleep I did get today was interrupted by someone saying “I’m HOMMME!”
me: I thought you’d want to see me.
Ma: Ugh.
me: I didn’t know you were sleeping!
Sis: Hey Josie, there are two things I haven’t packed that I don’t have room for–
me: –Don’t look  at me, I have no room in my suitcase. See? Full.
Sis: Well, I was kinda hoping you’d have room.
me: Nope.
Sis: Ma?
Ma: Don’t even think about it.
sis: But you don’t even know what it is!
Ma: I don’t care. I don’t have room.
Sis: All I have is a little backpack.
Ma: We have suitcases downstairs. It’s every man for himself.
me: Okay, well, I think I’m gonna take a nap.
Sis: Yeah, me too.
Ma: What?! Unbelievable! You know this really stinks. I was having the most wonderful nap and then you rip me from my sleep, and now you’re all going to bed.
me: Well, go to bed. We are too, no one is stopping you.
Ma: I can’t! I’m awake now! I can’t turn it on and off like a faucet!
me: Oh. Well, I can. Nite.
Sis: Oh, Josie I’m bringing my laptop and my iShuffle, so maybe you could teach me how to work it?
me: Sure.
Ma: What?! Why are you bringing all that? This is supposed to be a vacation. You’re supposed to leave all that stuff here and just spend a week with the family.
me: So remember, it’s “every man for himself” but we have to do it as a family.
Sis: Can’t wait.

For one week I will be with my family in New England. Driving together. Navigating together. Deciding where to eat together. Deciding where to go together. Just a whole week of wonderfully close togetherness. Think of me.

