Greeting the morning

This has nothing to do with the topic of my post today, but I wanted to share a recent picture of George. Every morning George climbs up onto the windowsill and meows like he’s talking to the trees outside. To look at him, you’d think he was begging to go outdoors but in reality he is terrified by everything in that big old world out there (we’ve tried it). Still, he likes to sit by the window. Sometimes I feel a little bit like that.

Today I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of family. So many of my friends have these large, close families. All the aunts and uncles and cousins live close by, and everyone grows up together. The concept of family is very important to my own family; however, I don’t get to see my relatives much because they all live far away. Still, sometimes they drive through Georgia and stay for a few days. They cook meals with my parents, play cards at the kitchen table with Dean Martin playing in the background, and they talk about the old days. While my memories with my relatives aren’t plentiful, they are good ones.

My Uncle Gordon died today and I wanted to put up a photo of him before I realized I’d lost all those when my computer crashed. In a few days I will be flying to Rhode Island for the funeral. Some of these relatives I barely remember or have never met–I will meet one of my uncles for the first time. I will also say goodbye to one uncle I do remember very well but still never had the opportunity to spend much time with. All aspects of that just seem sad to me.

